Pepsi Jrs: Schut and MacLean win 1st Qualifiers, play again in 9 am “B” Quals

The Pepsi Provincial Junior Men’s and Junior Women’s Curling Championships, for curlers in the Under 21 age category, continue today at the Silver Fox Curling Club in Summerside, with four junior men’s and three junior women’s teams entered, playing ten-end games. There will be new champions this year as defending Junior champions the Lauren Ferguson junior women’s team from Cornwall, and the Tyler Smith foursome from the Charlottetown Curling Club are not back, as Ferguson is curling in Nova Scotia, while Smith has aged out of Juniors and competed as third stone on the winning PEI Tankard men’s team this year, skipped by Eddie MacKenzie. 

The Mitchell Schut and Rachel MacLean teams won the “A” Qualifiers in the modified triple knockout draw on Friday morning, with last year’s Junior Women’s finalist team, skipped by Rachel MacLean, fighting back from a 5-0 deficit after five ends against clubmate Ella Lenentine in her U21 debut to win the game 8-7, aided by a 4-point sixth end and single and double steals in the 9th and 10th ends respectively.

Lenentine lost 11-4 to clubmate Katie Shaw in the “B” semi-final. Shaw takes on MacLean in the “B” Qualifier this morning at 9.

Schut and Snow teams in “A” Qualifier. Photo from Team Snow Curling live-stream

On the Junior men’s side, last year’s finalist team, skipped by Mitchell Schut, won the “A” Qualifier  over Cornwall clubmate Brayden Snow and his team by a 9-5 score, helped out by an 8th end triple steal.

The two teams square off again at 9 this morning in the “B” Qualifier of the modified triple knockout draw.

The Team Snow and Team Schut Junior teams are live-streaming their games on their Facebook pages. 

Teams in both divisions are playing modified triple knockout draws, where the winning team from each section also gets to compete in the next section. If a team wins all three sections, they will win the event without a championship round. If a team wins two sections, they will advance to a championship game against the winner of the other section and will take the championship if they win the game. If the other team wins, there will be a second championship game, with the winner of that game. If there are three separate section winners, the team that played in the most section finals will earn a bye to the second championship game where they will face the winner of a game between the other two finalists.

Live results from the Pepsi Junior championships are available at

No spectators are permitted due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Previous PEI Juniors Championship winners and websites are at:

Draw Charts

(will not be updated during event – refer to live scoring for draw progression)




Explanation for MA/WA and MB/WB:

1. If one team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. If one team wins two qualifiers. They play in both MA/WA and MB/WB (and win the event if they win either game), the other winner plays in MA/WB (and has to win both games).

3. Three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* plays in MB/WB and the other winners play off in MA/WB. If there is a tie in number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to MB/WB and the other two teams play off in MA/WA

*Qualifying games have a yellow border on the schedule

Team Rosters

Pepsi Juniors 

Junior Men’s Teams Junior Women’s Teams
Team name: Isaiah Dalton
Skip: Isaiah Dalton
Third: Connor Bruce
Second: Sheamus Herlihy
Lead: Nate MacRae
Coach: A.J. Campbell
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Team name: Ella Lenentine
Skip: Ella Lenentine
Third: Erika Pater
Second: Kacey Gauthier
Lead: Mollie Shaw
Alternate: Makiya Noonan
Coach: Robbie Lenentine
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Team name: Brock Rochford
Skip: Brock Rochford
Third: Keegan Warnell
Second: Jack Chaisson
Lead: Levi Driscoll
Coach: Edward White
Club: Silver Fox Curling Club
Team name: Rachel MacLean
Skip: Rachel MacLean
Third: Sydney Howatt
Second: Amy Spence
Lead: Avery Nicholson
Coach: Carl Nicholson
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Team name: Mitchell Schut
Skip: Mitchell Schut (throws 3rd)
Third: Chase Macmillan (throws 4th)
Second: Cruz Pineau
Lead: Liam Kelly
Coach: Pat Quilty
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Team name: Katie Shaw
Skip: Katie Shaw
Third: Lexie Murray
Second: Alexis Burris
Lead: Izzy Tatlock
Alternate: Hayden Ford
Coach: David Murphy
Club: Cornwall Curling Club
Team name: Brayden Snow
Skip: Brayden Snow
Third: Jack MacFadyen
Second: Liam Barbrick
Lead: Davis Nicholson
Coach: David MacFadyen
Club: Cornwall Curling Club


Comments are closed.