PEI teams advance to Everest Curling Club Ch’ship playoffs (Curling Canada)

The 2021 Everest Canadian Curling Club Championship men’s field started with 14 teams in the mix but was whittled down to six on Thursday night.

Saskatchewan’s Dean Grindheim of Saskatoon finished the round robin strongly by clinching first place in Pool A at the Ottawa Hunt & Golf Club.

Saskatchewan took on Ontario’s Adam Spencer of Guelph in a head-to-head battle for the top spot in the pool. Saskatchewan trailed at the half but stole two in the fifth end for its first game lead. A burned Saskatchewan rock led to Spencer’s chance to draw for two and regain the lead in the sixth. However, Spencer was light on his last shot in the seventh end, allowing Grindheim to hit three. The big end was possible thanks to a sharp double takeout attempt on Grindheim’s first shot, which re-arranged Ontario’s hidden shot rock in the house. 

However, Ontario battled back in the eighth end, scoring two to even the score and force an extra end. Saskatchewan played the end open enough to leave an in-turn draw for the 7-6 win in the ninth. 

Both teams finished with 5-1 records, and Saskatchewan finished first due to its head-to-head record and Ontario second.


Prince Edward Island’s Darren Higgins (4-2; Summerside) clinched the final playoff spot in the pool following the team’s 6-5 win against Yukon’s Dustin Mikkelsen (1-5; Whitehorse). Quebec’s Philippe Ménard (4-2; Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville) ended its round robin on a winning note, however, the team did not qualify for playoffs due to its head-to-head record against Prince Edward Island.

In Pool B, Manitoba’s Trevor Loreth (6-0; Winnipeg) finished in first place undefeated, but he had to battle for the unblemished record. The young Northern Ontario team (0-6) skipped Josh Hales of Sault Ste. Marie was looking for his first win of the event and took Manitoba to an extra end before falling 7-4.

British Columbia’s Darren Frycz (4-2; Langley) defeated Nova Scotia’s Nicholas Deagle (3-3; Bridgewater) with both teams securing their spot in the modified double knockout round.

Newfoundland and Labrador’s Mark Noseworthy finished the round robin strongly with a 9-1 win against New Brunswick’s Michael Dobson (2-4; Saint John). Noseworthy, a four-time Tim Hortons Brier participant, will lead his team from St. John’s into the playoffs and improve to 4-2.

On the women’s side, the playoffs are nearly set. In Pool A, Manitoba’s Deb McCreanor (3-2; La Salle) is looking for a win to enter the playoffs on a high note. However, it will be a tall task against Alberta’s Tiffany Steuber (5-0; Spruce Grove), who first aims to finish the round robin with a flawless record.

In Pool B, two teams are tied at three wins and two losses, and both require wins to secure playoffs.

Ontario’s Laurie Shields (5-0; Newmarket) has a stranglehold lead in her pool and will finish the round robin against Nova Scotia’s Celina Thompson (3-2; Halifax). On the other hand, a win by Nova Scotia would guarantee the team a playoff spot.

New Brunswick’s Julia Goodin (3-2; Moncton) is also in the mix and can guarantee her team’s spot in the playoffs with a win against Stacey Stabel of the Northwest Territories (1-4; Yellowknife).

The final women’s round robin draw began at 7:30 p.m. (Eastern).

[Update: PEI women are reporting that they have qualified for the playoffs with a 3-3 win-loss record following a pair of 6-3 wins on Thursday over Newfoundland and Labrador and Saskatchewan.]

“A strong Day 3 earned us 2 wins to finish round robin with a 3-3 record. We’re very excited to have qualified for the double knockout playoff round starting tomorrow! Thank you for all of your support!”  – Team Bradley (Facebook)

They play at 1:30 pm AT on Friday vs. Ontario.

Games from the 2021 Everest Canadian Curling Club Championships will be live-streamed on as well as on Curling Canada’s YouTube channel. Check for the up-to-date broadcast schedule.

Scores and standings from the event will be available at draw times, team lineups and other event info, go to:

Click to read at Curling Canada:

Comments are closed.