Lou Nowlan wins his 16th PEI Masters men’s ch’ship, while Rachel MacLean skips her 1st Pepsi Junior Women’s ch’ship team

The PEI Masters Men’s Curling Championship, for curlers age 60 and over, will have to find room for yet another Lou Nowlan entry on the trophy, as he has now won his 16th Masters title, playing either the third or skip position. Nowlan and his host Silver Fox team of third David MacFadyen, 2nd Earle Proude, and lead Alan Montgomery,  lost two of their first three games in the event but then pulled out five wins in a row, including the two championship games, against Cornwall’s Peter Rousseau rink, who won their first five games, but lost their last three, all to Nowlan. Other members of the Rousseau squad were third John Mullin, second Garth Cudmore, and lead Edgar Coffin.

PEI Masters Men’s champs (L-R): Lou Nowlan, David MacFadyen, Earle Proude, Alan Montgomery

Cornwall’s Shirley Berry rink won the Masters Women’s Division on Saturday (see previous story).

Junior Women’s champs (L-R): Rachel MacLean (skip), Sydney Howatt (3rd), Lexie Murray (second), Abby Barker (lead), David Murphy (coach)

Junior Women’s Finalist Team (L-R): Ella Lenentine (skip), Makiya Noonan, Kacey GAuthier, Erika Pater, coach Robbie Lenentine

Meanwhile,  Cornwall’s Rachel MacLean, who skipped the finalist team last year, and her team won the PEI Pepsi Junior Women’s Championship at her host Cornwall Curling Club, with an 11-4 semi-final win over the Madalyn Easter rink from the Silver Fox, and an 11-7 victory in the final over clubmate Ella Lenentine and her team. Cornwall’s Mitchell Schut rink went undefeated to win the Junior Men’s division, which wrapped up on Saturday.

Curl PEI Vice President Ryan Giddens was on hand during the closing ceremonies to present the  Asham  Coaching  Award for junior women’s team coaches to  David Murphy,  coach of the  MacLean rink,  and the junior women’s Sportsmanship award,  to Lexie Murray,  second on  Team  MacLean, who now advance to the 2022 New Holland Canadian Under-21 Curling Championships, Operated by Curling Canada, Mar. 25-Apr. 1, 2022 at the Stratford Rotary Complex in Stratford, Ont.

David Murphy (left), Asham Coaching award winner for junior women’s teams, with Curl PEI VP Ryan Giddens

Lexie Murray (left), Sportsmanship award winner for junior women’s teams, with Curl PEI VP Ryan Giddens

Comments are closed.