2017 PEI Mixed champ Dennis Watts sweeps 2022 Mixed ch’ship, Savill rink undefeated going into PEI U13 final day

PEI Mixed: 

The Dennis Watts rink from the Silver Fox Curling Club, who won the PEI Mixed in 2017 with three members of the current team, went undefeated  in seven games to win the 2022 PEI Mixed Curling Championship Saturday evening at the Crapaud Community Curling Club.

(L-R) Dennis Watts (Skip), Jaclyn Reid (third), Terry Arsenault (2nd), Alison Griffin (lead)

As Watts won all three modified triple knockout qualifier games, the two game Sunday championship round was not needed. Watts and his team of third Jaclyn Reid, 2nd Terry Arsenault and lead Alison Griffin won the “A” Qualifier 7-2 over Montague’s Shane MacDonald, and kept clubmate Nick Blanchard and his team off the scoreboard in both the “B” and “C” Qualifiers, winning them by identical 10-0 scores, the “B” in six ends, and the “C” in just four.

Finalist rink (R-L): Nick blanchard (skip), Stephanie Schnare (3rd), Adam Arsenault (2nd), Terri Wood (lead)

The winning Watts team will now advance to the Canadian Mixed Curling Championship, November 6-12, 2022. 

Eight teams from 4 PEI curling facilities took part in the PEI MIxed.

Fulll end-by-end results at: https://peicurling.com/scoreboard/#!/competitions/7380


Meanwhile, at the Montague Curling Club,  the PEI U13 Open (any combination of male and/or female players) Curling Championship got underway at noon Saturday, and wraps up on Sunday, with four teams, 3 from the Cornwall Curling Club, and one from the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary playing a round-robin, with the top two teams advancing to the championship game Sunday at 2 pm. With one round-robin draw, at 10:30 am Sunday, remaining, the Aidan Savill rink from Cornwall is in the lead with a 2-0 win-loss record, while Cornwall’s Grace Myers, and O’Leary’s Mary Jean Gavin Shea rinks are at 1-1, and the Kolin Beaton foursome from Cornwall had two close games, but didn’t manage to pick up a win on Saturday.

U13 action at Montague  – photo by Shauna MacArthur.

Live, end-by-end results are available at: https://peicurling.com/scoreboard/#!/competitions/7381

Team Rosters

Team Beaton

Cornwall Curling Club

Skip: Kolin Beaton
Third: Owen Milton
Second: Lucy MacArthur
Lead: Skyla LaPointe

Team Gavin-Shea

Maple Leaf Curling Club, O’Leary

Skip: Mary Jane Gavin-Shea
Third: Landon Smith
Second: Preston Barlow
Lead: Aidan Rennie
Alternate: Layney Smith

Team Myers

Cornwall Curling Club

Skip: Grace Myers
Third: Greta Edgett-Gallant
Second: Norah MacKinnon
Lead: Lily Whalley

Team Savill

Cornwall Curling Club

Skip: Aiden Savill
Third: Veronica Pater
Second: Oliver MacEwen
Lead: Sophie Gallant

Draw and Schedule

(Scroll to view full table on narrow touchscreens)

Date Time Draw Ice 1 Ice 2  Ice 3 Ice 4
March 5 12 noon
(delayed start)
1 1-Myers v 2-Beaton 3-Savill v 4-Gavin-Shea    
3:00 PM
  Hit, Draw, Tap
3:30 pm 2     2-Beaton v 4-Gavin-Shea 1-Myers v 3-Savill
March 6 10:30 am 3 1-Myers v 4-Gavin-Shea 2-Beaton v 3-Savill    
2 pm 4     Championship Game  
1 Myers   There will be one pool.  The pool will play a round-robin.
2 Beaton There will be no tie-breakers played for placement.
3 Savill Placement for final positions will be determined first by win/loss, then head to head between tied teams, then cumulative Last Stone Delivery (draw to the button) and finally by Hit, Draw, Tap points.
4 Gavin-Shea   The top two teams will advance to the championship game.


Championship Game:


Comments are closed.