Sweet/Matheson (Open Division), Stavert/Clarke (Women’s Div.) repeat as Ferguson-Logan Montague Funeral Home PEI Stick Champs

The Ferguson-Logan Montague Funeral Home PEI Stick Curling Championship wrapped up Thursday afternoon at the Crapaud Community Curling Club with repeat winners in both divisions — the Clair Sweet and Bob Matheson team from the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary won the Open Division (any combination of male and/or female curlers), while the Cornwall Curling Club duo of Gloria Clarke and Ruth Stavert captured their 9th Women’s Division title out of the twelve that have been held to-date. Sweet/Matheson beat Cornwall’s John Dunsford/Myrna Sanderson team 6-1 in the Open Division final, scoring half their points with hammer in the first end, while Stavert/Clarke scored three deuces in a 6-2 decision over clubmates Myrna Craswell and Bernie Field in the Women’s Division championship game.

Open Division Champions Bob Matheson (left) and Clair Sweet from the Maple Leaf Curling Club

Open Division Finalists Myrna Sanderson (left) and John Dunsford, from the Cornwall Curling Club

Women’s Division Champions Gloria Clarke (left) and Ruth Stavert, from the Cornwall Curling Club

Women’s Division Finalists Bernie Field (left) and Myrna Craswell, from the Cornwall Curling Club

This year’s event attracted 17 teams from 4 curling clubs. Stick curling is a two-person per team event with six-end games.

Both winning rinks are guaranteed a spot at the 2022 Canadian Stick Curling Championship, April 22 to 25, 2022 at Curl Moncton in Moncton New Brunswick. It is an open competition with a total of 80 teams accepted in open and women’s divisions. The Maritime Stick Championships, originally scheduled for Wolfville NS have been cancelled this season.

Full results from the PEI championships at: https://peicurling.com/scoreboard/#!/competitions/7375

PEI Ch’ship Team Rosters

Team Name Short Name Roster Club
O-Callaghan/Vincent O-Call/Vinc John Vincent, Walter Callaghan Western Community
O-Dimitroff/Blue O-Dimi/Blue Carl Dimitroff, Alvin Blue Montague
O-Dunsford/Sanderson O-Duns/Sand John Dunsford, Myrna Sanderson Cornwall
O-Field/Craswell O-Fiel/Cras Paul Field, Barry Craswell Cornwall
O-Higgbotham/Chaisson O-Higg/Chai Sterling Higginbotham,
Urban Chaisson
O-Higginbotham/Martin O-Higg/Mart Preston Higginbotham
Bob Martin
O-Keefe/McInnis O-Keef/McIn Bernard Keefe, Kevin McInnis Cornwall
O-MacDonald/Higginbotham O-MacD/Higg Bazil Higginbotham, Gordon MacDonald Montague
O-O’Rourke/Singleton O-O’Ro/Sing Glenn Singleton, Tom O’Rourke Cornwall
O-Power/Kerwin O-Powe/Kerw Bill Power, Howard Kerwin Montague
O-Renaud/Messet O-Rena/Mess Rick Renaud,
Randy Messett
O-Sawatsky/Dunn O-Sawa/Dunn Chuck Sawatsky, Tom Dunn Cornwall
O-Sweet/Matheson O-Swee/Math Clair Sweet, Bob Matheson Maple Leaf
W-Callaghan/Barwise W-Call/Barw Audrey Callaghan, Anne Barwise Western Community
W-Craswell/Field W-Cras/Fiel Myrna Craswell, Bernie Field Cornwall
W-Reid/Hughes W-Reid/Hugh Etta Reid, Elaine Hughes Cornwall
W-Stavert/Clarke W-Stav/Clar Gloria Clarke, Ruth Stavert Cornwall

Comments are closed.