ICYMI: PEI Seniors (50+) Curling Ch’ships start Thurs. afternoon at the Montague Curling Club. Limited number of spectators permitted.

The PEI Seniors Curling Championships, for curlers in the 50+ age category, get underway on Thursday, March 17 at the Montague Curling Club in Montague / Three Rivers, and wrap up with the championship round on Sunday, March 20. The women’s and men’s divisions each have three teams, and will play a  modified triple knockout format with a 2-game championship round. In the event that a team sweeps all three section finals, the championship round games will not be needed. If a team wins two sections and the first championship game, the second game won’t be played. 

Spectators will be allowed at this event, with up to 100 people per day (including curlers, officials, etc.) permitted.

At last year’s event, the  Phillip Gorveatt rink went undefeated to repeat as Senior Men’s champs, winning his 4th Senior Men’s title in five years, while the Kim Dolan team also went undefeated to repeat as Senior Women’s champions. Gorveatt is back this year, as is last year’s Senior Women’s Finalist team, skipped by Shirley Berry.

The winning teams advance to the 2022 Canadian Seniors from Dec. 510, 2022, at a location yet to be announced.

Live end-by-end results from the PEI Seniors Curling Championship will be available at: https://peicurling.com/scoreboard/#!/competitions/7377

Team Rosters

Senior Women’s

Team Bradley
Skip: Shelly Bradley
Third: Susan McInnis
Second: Julie Scales
Lead: Tricia MacGregor
Representing club: Cornwall Curling Club

Team Berry
Skip: Shirley Berry
Third: Tammy Dewar
Second: Sandra Sobey
Lead: Arleen Harris
Representing club: Cornwall Curling Club

Team Harding
Skip: Bev Harding
Third: Sherren MacKinnon
Second: Susan Watts
Lead: Stephanie Perigoe
Representing club: Montague Curling Club

Senior Men’s

Team Gorveatt
Skip: Philip Gorveatt
Third: Kevin Champion
Second: Sean Ledgerwood
Lead: Mike Dillon
Representing club: Montague Curling Club

Team MacDonald
Skip: Mark MacDonald
Third: Calvin Smith
Second: Garth Cudmore
Lead: Peter Murdoch 
Representing club: Cornwall Curling Club

Team Morrison
Fourth: Paul Morrison
Third: Larry Richards
Second: Steven MacLeod
Skip: Donald Clarey (throws 1st stones)
Representing club: Montague Curling Club

Schedule and Draw Trees (Mod. Triple Knockout with 2-game championship round, if needed).

Explanation for MA/WA and MB/WB:

1. If one team wins all three qualifiers: Championship Round is not required.

2. If one team wins two qualifiers. They play in both MA/WA and MB/WB (and win the event if they win either game), the other winner plays in MA/WB (and has to win both games).

3. Three separate winners: the team that played in the most qualifying games* plays in MB/WB and the other winners play off in MA/WB. If there is a tie in number of qualifying games played, then the team that qualified earliest goes to MB/WB and the other two teams play off in MA/WA

*Qualifying games are 2,4,6 and B,D,F.

Comments are closed.