2024 PEI Stick Curling Championships Wrapped on Monday

2024 PEI Stick Champions ~ Elaine Hughes & Etta Reid and Clair Sweet & Bob Matheson

The 2024 PEI Stick Curling Championships wrapped up on Monday afternoon at the Cornwall Curling Club with the Elaine Hughes and Etta Reid duo from the host club winning the Women’s Division title and the Bob Matheson and Clair Sweet team from the West Prince Curling Club capturing the first Men’s Division title (previously it was an open division).

2024 PEI Stick Finalists ~ Margaret Stewart & Bernie Field and Bernard Keefe & George Piercey

In the Women’s Division final, Cornwall’s Bernie Field and Margaret Stewart were up over the defending champions at the mid-game point but Hughes/Reid recovered by scoring 3 in the fourth and another 3 in the fifth, with a final score of 7-4.

In the Men’s Division the Matheson/Sweet team finished undefeated, beating Cornwall’s Bernard Keefe and George Piercey 3-2 in the final.  Keefe/Piercey finished with a 4-3 record.

This year’s event saw the largest field to date with 10 women’s teams and 17 men’s teams registered to play in the pooled round-robin competition with a championship round.  Stick curling is a two-person per team event with six-end games.

The top three teams in each division along with the top three teams from the Mixed Stick Championship that was held in December have earned the right to advance to the Maritime Stick Curling Championships at the West Prince Curling Club in March of this year.  The Canadian Stick Curling Championships will be held April 17-21, 2024 at the Leaside Curling Club in Toronto.

Comments are closed.