Ramsay and Casey win A sections over defending champs at PEI Juniors

The first of three section winners has been decided in both the junior mens and junior women’s divisions at the Pepsi Junior Curling Championships at the Charlottetown Curling Club, and neither winner is the defending champion. The Sam Ramsay foursome from the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club in Summerside beat the three-time defending champion Brett Gallant rink from Charlottetown by a 6-2 score to take the junior men’s A section final. The Anita Casey foursome edged their Silver Fox clubmates, the two-time defending champion Erin Carmody team, by a 10-9 score in the extra end of an exciting come-from-behind game to capture the junior women’s A section. In that game, Carmody took four points in the opening end, building up a 6-3 lead at the half. Casey stole a single in the sixth, but Carmody came back with a pair in the seventh and a single in the eighth to lead 9-4. Casey rebounded with a double in the ninth, and a stolen triple in the tenth to tie the game. In the extra, Casey was lying two side-by-side in the four foot. Carmody made the double, but rolled to the 12 foot circle. Casey also had a rock in the 12 foot. A measure was done, and Casey was awarded the point and the A section win.

Other members of the Ramsay team are Justin Richard, Eric Pidgeon, and Corey Miller, with coach Peter Pidgeon, while Madeline Campbell, Dannielle Chiasson, and Bethany MacDonald, with coach Leo Stewart, round out the Casey squad.

The B section finals go 4 pm Monday. In the junior women’s division, Sarah Clow of Cornwall will play Casey, while Sarah Fullerton, also of Cornwall, will face Carmody Monday at 11:30 am, with the winners advancing to the B final. Clow advanced with a 9-6 win over Lindsay Hughes of Charlottetown Sunday afternoon, taking six points in the final two ends. Fullerton beat Tiffany Sweet of O’Leary 7-4 to advance.

In the junior men’s section, Nick Van Ouwerkerk scored a triple in the final end on Sunday afternoon for a 9-8 win over Matthew Nabuurs of Montague, while Spencer Pitre of Alberton downed Parker Clements of O’Leary 10-2. Van Ouwerkerk plays Ramsay, and Pitre faces Gallant Monday morning at 8, with the winners facing off in the B final at 4 pm.

The C divison finals of this triple-knockout competition go Tuesday at 2:30 pm. The A, B, and C section winners will square off in a two game championship round on Wednesday, with the eventual winners advancing to the M&M Canadian Juniors, January 31-February 8th in Salmon Arm BC.



Comments are closed.