O’Connor Glass Provincial 17 & Under ch’ships start Friday afternoon in Summerside

O'Connor Glass
Opening draw is Friday afternoon at 2 for the Provincial age 17 & Under Curling Championships, sponsored by O’Connor Glass and taking place at the Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club in Summerside, with the winning men’s and women’s rinks advancing to the Atlantic Under 18 Curling Championships, April 6-8 at the Bluenose Curling Club in New Glasgow NS.

Four men’s and six women’s teams have signed up for this year’s event, with the 17 & Under men playing a double round robin with the top two teams advancing to a sudden death final, and the women playing a single round robin with the top two teams advancing to a best two out of three final. If one men’s team goes through the double round robin undefeated, they will be declared the champions without playing the championship game.

Last year’s provincial and Atlantic men’s champions, the Alex Matters rink from Charlottetown are this year’s Pepsi Junior (age 20 & Under) Men’s champions, and cannot compete as a team in this year’s event. Last year’s winning 17 and Under women’s rink, the Amanda MacLean foursome from the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary, were runners-up in this year’s Pepsi Juniors. Aleya Quilty from that team is on the Jenny McLean rink this year out of the Silver Fox, while Youth Olympics bronze medallist Emily Gray is not participating in this event, and MacLean and third Kassinda Butler are out of the age category.

The men’s entries are the Alex MacFadyen rink out of the host Silver Fox club, the Matthew MacLean foursome from the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary, and two entries from the Montague Curling Club, skipped by Tony Nabuurs, with Parker O’Connor throwing 4th stones,  and by Brooks Roche, with Dylan Lowery throwing final stones.

Thee women’s teams are the Emily Hennessey team from the Charlottetown Curling Club, the Emily Keen rink out of the Charlottetown and Crapaud clubs, the Rachel O’Connor team from the Cornwall Curling Club, with Meghan Ching throwing fourth stones, along with the Veronica Smith rink, also from Cornwall Curling Club, the Carolyn Rose foursome from the Montague Curling Club, and the Jenny McLean team from the host Silver Fox club.

Here are the full team rosters (skip to lead, coach, club):


Alex MacFadyen, James Dalton, Matthew MacDonald, Parker MacFadyen, David MacFadyen (coach). Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club

Matthew MacLean, Marshall Smallman, Kevin Gallant, Alan MacLean, Glen MacLean (coach), Maple Leaf Curling Club (O’Leary)

Tony Nabuurs (throws 3rd). Parker O’Connor (throws 4th), Noah O’Connor, Tyler Smith, Arnold Nabuurs (coach), Montague Curling Club

Brooks Roche (throws 3rd), Ryan Lowery (throws 2nd), Dylan Lowery (throws 4th), Owen Newson, Tammy Dewar (coach),  Montague Curling Club


Emily Hennessey, Emma Matheson, Desiree MacDonald, Megan Thompson, Bill Hope (coach), Charlottetown Curling Club

Emily Keen, Jessica Watts, Kaleigh Peters, Jenny Mutch, David Ross (coach), Charlottetown/Crapaud

Jenny McLean, Aleya Quilty, Lauren MacFadyen, Ava Whitney-Coulter, Pat Quilty (coach), Sheila Compton (coach), Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club

Rachel O’Connor (throws 3rd), Meghan Ching (throws 4th), Lauren Lenentine, Breanne Burgoyne, Pat Quilty (coach), Glen MacLean (coach), Cornwall Curling Club

Carolyn Rose, Leah Deveau, Sarah MacPhee, Jessica Chapman, Carolyn MacPhee (coach), Montague Curling Club

Veronica Smith, Katie Fullerton, Sabrina Smith, Chloe McCloskey, Paul Smith (coach), Cornwall Curling Club

Draw times are Friday at 2 and 7 pm, with opening ceremonies at 5 pm, Saturday and Sunday at 10 am, and 2:30 and 7 pm, and Monday at 10 and 2:30. The men’s final is in the 10 am Monday draw, with the first women’s final going Sunday at 10 am if no tiebreakers, the second taking place Monday at 10, and the third, if needed, going Monday at 2:30 pm.

Here is the opening round robin draw:

Friday, February 17 at 2 pm:

Sheet 1: Emily Keen (Charlottetown/Crapaud) vs Carolyn Rose (Montague)
Sheet 2: Rachel O’Connor (Cornwall) vs Emily Hennessey (Charlottetown)
Sheet 3: Veronica Smith (Cornwall) vs Jenny McLean (Silver Fox)
Sheet 4: Tony Nabuurs (Montague) vs Brooks Roche (Montague)
Sheet 6: Alex MacFadyen vs Matthew MacLean (Maple Leaf)

Complete round robin draw is available at PEICurling.com/17andunder.

End-by-end results will be available at LiveCurling.com.

Comments are closed.