Tickets now on sale at CARI for the Curl Atlantic Ch’ship, Sept 11-14

Tickets are now on sale at the Control Desk of the CARI Complex in Charlottetown for Atlantic Canada’s season-opening curling event, the Curl Atlantic Championship, which runs September 11-14 at CARI’s MacLauchlan Arena. Tickets, at $30 per person for the  entire event ($20 for Youth/Seniors), or $10 for a full day pass will also be available at the door during the event.

Eight men’s and an equal number of women’s teams from the four Atlantic Provinces are competing in the main event. In a separate competition, five junior men’s and five junior women’s teams are squaring off in preparation for the 2015 Games in Prince George BC.  All games in both events are eight ends. Following practices, the first Canada Games teams draw is at 11 am Thursday, with the women’s opening draw at 4 pm and the men’s at 9 pm. Defending champions are the Heather Smith and Peter Burgess rinks from Nova Scotia.  Smith is back this year. This year’s men’s and women’s semi-finals go at noon on Sunday the 14th, with the finals following at 4 pm.


Curl Atlantic Photo (L-R): Teri Lake, Blisse Joyce, Jill Brothers, Heather Smith-Dacey, at last year’s Curl Atlantic Championship

Link to full schedule (PDF)

The event includes top teams from Atlantic Canada, including PEI women’s rinks skipped by Kathy O’Rourke and Suzanne Birt, and, on the men’s side, the Jamie Newson foursome, and a new Island team which includes skip Adam Casey, who most recently played on the Brad Gushue team in St. John’s, and third Josh Barry, who is attending UPEI. Barry skipped the New Brunswick men’s rink at the 2013 Canadian junior men’s championship and played lead stone on that province’s representative at the 2014 Tim Hortons Brier. Also on the new team are second Anson Carmody, a former teammate of Casey’s on the Brett Gallant rink, who won a Canadian junior men’s championship and world junior silver medal back in 2009. Carmody was most recently on the Eddie MacKenzie rink, current PEI  men’s champs. Lead stone is Robbie Doherty, who played lead stone for the Blair Jay rink, who came third at the PEI Tankard this year, and played second on the 2011 Canadian Mixed championship rink, skipped by Robert Campbell.
Other men’s entries include Nova Scotia’s Mark Dacey, Chad Stevens, Alan O’Leary, and Ian Fitzner-Leblanc teams, and New Brunswick rinks skipped by James Grattan and Andy McCann.

The women’s teams include Newfoundland and Labrador rinks skipped by Shelley Nichols, and by former Haligonian Marie Christianson. The Sylvie Robichaud foursome are representing  New Brunswick, while the defending champion Heather Smith rink leads off the Nova Scotia contingent, which also includes the Kelley MacIntosh and Sarah Rhyno squads.
The Canada Games preparatory event includes the Lauren Moerike and Kaleigh MacKay-skipped PEI women’s rinks, and Island men’s teams captained by Tyler Smith and Alex MacFadyen. Nova Scotia entries are skipped by Mary Fay (women’s) and Matthew Manuel (men’s), while New Brunswick is sending the Justine Comeau women’s team, and the Carter Small men’s foursome. Completing the roster are the Megan Kearley women’s and Andrew Parsons men’s teams from Newfoundland and Labrador.
Link to full team rosters (PDF)


End by end results will be available at
Direct link to Curl Atlantic Championship  results

As well, all games on sheets 3 and 4, including the semi-finals and finals, will be live-streamed by Bell Aliant Community One Video.

50X50 draws will be held during the event, with proceeds for the Charlottetown Curling Complex. The Rodd Royalty is the host hotel for the event.
Curl Atlantic is pleased to partner with the CARI Complex, the City of Charlottetown and the Province of Prince Edward Island in hosting their premiere event of the season.

For more information on the Curl Atlantic Championship, get in touch with event co-chair Amy Duncan at [email protected] or 902-368-4208

Comments are closed.