(Pics added, 1 team correction): James Bryson from St. John’s NL, and Veronica Smith from Cornwall PE go undefeated to win Fox Fall Fling

The 8th Annual Fall Fling Junior Cashspiel wrapped up Sunday afternoon at the Silver Fox Curling & Yacht Club in Summerside, with teams from St. John’s NL and Cornwall PEI winning the finals.


Photo: Organizer Sheila Compton (right) handing out prize money to winning Bryson rink



Photo: Organizer Sheila Compton (right) handing out prize money to runner-up Marin rink

On the 12 team junior men’s side, the James Bryson-skipped rink from the Bally Hally Club in St. John’s beat the Liam Marin foursome from the Thistle-St. Andrew’s club in Saint John NB by an 8-3 score in the final, with handshales after eight of the scheduled 10 ends. A four point fourth end, and a single steal in the fifth gave the Bryson rink, which also includes Ian Withycombe, Jeff Au, and Alex MacKay, and is coached by Craig Withycomb, a 6-2 lead after five ends. Bryson scored 5 points in the 10th end to down defending event champion Graeme Weagle of Chester NS in the semi-final 10-4, while Marin beat the Matthew MacLean rink from PEI’s Silver Fox and Cornwall clubs by an 8-3 score in the other semi. Bryson and Marin were first in their round robin pools, with 5-0 and 4-1 win-loss records, respectively while Weagle and MacLean each went 3-2. Rounding out the runner-up Marin foursome are Jack Smeltzer, Felip K Marin, Drendan Jones, and coach Felipe D Marin. fallfling2014winnerwomen

Photo: Organizer Sheila Compton (right) handing out prize money to winning Smith rink


Photo: Organizer Sheila Compton (right) handing out prize money to runner-up McLean rink

The Veronica Smith team beat out the Jenny McLean rink by a 7-4 score in an all-Cornwall final in the 10 team junior women’s division. The two-time reigning PEI junior champs were ahead 3-2 at the half, and the two teams traded singles in ends six and seven. McLean, who formerly curled out of the host club, tied the game at 4-all with a steal of 1 in the 8th end, but Smith picked up a triple in the 9th, and ran McLean out of rocks in the 10th. Smith, whose rink includes Chloe McCloskey, Sabrina Smith, and Katie Fullerton, with coach Bill Hope, edged Charlottetown’s Jane DiCarlo team 7-6 in an extra end in semi-final play, while McLean doubled New Brunswick’s Justine Comeau team, last year’s women’s winners, from Fredericton New Brunswick’s Capital Winter Club, 4-2 in the other semi. Other members of the runner-up McLean team are Emily Keen, Emily Vaniderstine, Aleya Quilty, with coach Butch McGee. Smith went undefeated with a 5-0 record in round robin play, while McLean had 3 wins and 2 losses. DiCarlo and Comeau both went 4-1 in the round robin.

Other PEI rinks:

Junior men’s: Cornwall’s Donald DeWolfe rink, and Western’s Leslie Noye foursome finished play at 3-2, while Tyler Smith and his Montague team, and Alex MacFadyen from the host club went 2-3, and Devin Schut of Cornwall ended at 1-4.

Junior women’s: Lauren Moerike of Charlottetown went 3-2, while Kaleigh MacKay of Crapaud and Kristie Rogers from Cornwall finished at 1-4.

Comments are closed.