Silver Fox Women, Charlottetown Men win PEI Curling Club Ch’ships

(MLCC photo L-R): Dennis Watts, Erik Brodersen, Andrew MacDougall, Doug MacGregor, Miranda Ellis, Lindsey Spencer, Darcee Birch, Melissa Morrow


The PEI Curling Club Championships wrapped up Monday afternoon at the Maple Leaf Curling Club in O’Leary with the Dennis Watts team from the Charlottetown Curling Complex going undefeated with a 7-0 win-loss record to win the Men’s championship, breaking open a tied game with a triple in the seventh for a 7-4 win over the Silver Fox men’s rink, skipped by Tim Hockin. Because of his undefeated status, Watts. who went directly to the final because of his first-place finish, would have had to be beaten twice by Hockin, so the Charlottetown win meant that the “second chance” game was not needed. Other members of the winning Charlottetown foursome are third Erik Brodersen, second Andrew MacDougall, and lead Doug MacGregor. The Silver Fox finalist team also includes third Terry Arsenault, second stone Mike Spencer, lead Darren Higgins, and alternate Jonathan Greenan.

The Hockin-skipped Silver Fox rink and the Montague team, skipped by Matthew MacDonald, both finished round robin play with 4-2 win-loss records, and squared off in a closely-fought 10 am semi-final match between the second and third place teams. In that game, the first three ends were blanked, with the two evenly-matched teams trading deuces in the fourth and fifth ends, and singles end six and seven, giving MacDonald, who had hammer in the even ends, last rock advantage coming home. Hockin, however, stole a single to advance to the final with a 4-3 win.

The winning Charlottetown team will now advance to the national Curling Club Championship, traditionally held in November. Dates and location have yet to be announced.


The Silver Fox Curling Club team, skipped by Melissa Morrow, who made it to the final last year, kept their opponents off the scoreboard in the this year’s final, winning 7-0 over the hometown Bobbi-Jean Boylan team, with singles in five of the first six ends, and a deuce in the seventh. The Summerside squad had an identical 4-1 win-loss record to the Boylan team, but lost to them 7-6 in their round robin encounter, so the Maple Leaf rink advanced directly to the final, and the Fox foursome went to the semi-final, where  they beat the third-place Tammy Dewar team from Montague by a 9-5 score, aided greatly by a five-point sixth end.

Playing with Morrow again this year are third Darcee Birch, second Lindsey Spencer, and lead Miranda Ellis, with coach Jamie Newson, while Amy Macmillan, Mary Hart, and Sandra Jones complete the Maple Leaf finalist team roster.

The winning Silver Fox team will now advance to the national Curling Club Championship, traditionally held in November. Dates and location have yet to be announced.

(Photos courtesy of the Maple Leaf Curling Club)

Comments are closed.