Defending champs among Draw One winners at eight team PEI Mixed

The eight-team 2022 PEI Mixed Curling Championship got underway Thursday evening at the Crapaud Community Curling Club, with the defending champion Jamie Newson rink from the Silver Fox in Summerside among the winning teams, following up a four-point fifth end with a steal of three to bring their opener against Cornwall’s Robbie Doherty foursome to handshakes after six ends and a 9-1 score. Other opening draw games saw Dennis Watts and his Silver Fox team double Crapaud’s Calvin Smith rink 10-5, scoring 5 of those points in the seventh end. Nick Blanchard and his team from the Silver Fox beat Montague’s Philip MacDonald squad 6-4, and Shane MacDonald beat Montague clubmate Larry Richards 7-3.

Friday action is at 10 am and 2 and 6 pm, with the modified triple knockout draw “A” qualifier going at 2.

The modified triple knockout draw is followed by a 2 game championship round on Sunday (not needed if a team sweeps all three draw section qualifying games). The winning team will advance to the Canadian Mixed Curling Championship, November 6-12, 2022.

Spectators will not be allowed at the PEI Mixed.

Live, end-by-end results are available at:!/competitions/7380

L-R: 2020 PEI Mixed winners Jamie Newson, Melissa Morrow, Andrew MacDougall, Miranda Ellis

The Jamie Newson rink won the last three PEI Mixed Championships (the 2021 event was not held). 

Here is the revised schedule and draw:

Schedule and Draw



Team Rosters (number = throwing order, “S” designates the skip):

Team Blanchard

Silver Fox Curling Club

Nick Blanchard (4-S), Stephanie Schnare (3), Adam Arsenault (2), Terri Wood (1)


Team Doherty

Cornwall Curling Club

Robert Doherty (4-S), Amanda Power (3), Brooks Roche (2), Lexie Murray (1)


Team Newson

Silver Fox Curling Club

Jamie Newson (4-S), Melissa Morrow (3), Andrew MacDougall (2), Miranda Ellis (1)

Team P.MacDonald

Montague Curling Club

Philip MacDonald (4-S), Robyn MacDonald (3), Thomas Annear (2), Shelley Rice (1)


Team Richards

Montague Curling Club

Larry Richards (4-S), Gail Greene (3), Paul Morrison 2), Katelyn Greene (1)


Team S.MacDonald

Montague Curling Club

Shane MacDonald (4-S), Darlene London (3), Jeff Shaw (2),: Nicole Phillips (1)


Team Smith

Crapaud Community Curling Club

Calvin Smith (4-S), Alexis Burris (3), Shawn Lennox (2), Amanda Holm (1)


Team Watts

Silver Fox Curling Club

Dennis Watts (4-S), Jaclyn Reid (3), Terry Arsenault (2), Alison Griffin (1)


Comments are closed.