Ch’ship rounds set after day three play at PEI Curling Club Ch’ships in Summerside

The 2022 PEI Curling Club Championships, with 7 men’s and  4 women’s teams who won their respective club championships, are down to the men’s and women’s Championship Rounds following the conclusion of round robin play Saturday evening at the Summerside Curling Club.

On the men’s single round-robin side, the host Summerside team, skipped by Jamie Newson, went undefeated at  6-0, and advance directly to the final at 2 pm Sunday. In the event they lose that game, because they went undefeated in the round-robin, they will have a second chance at 6 pm. Cornwall, Western, and Montague all finished at 4-2, but, after tiebreaking rules were applied, Cornwall, skipped by Robbie Doherty, and the veteran Western Community Curling Club team with Daryl MacDonald as skip, and Freddy Fraser throwing 4th stones will advance to the 10 am semi-final in 2nd and 3rd place, respectively. Out of the playoffs are Montague (4-2), Crapaud (2-4), Maple Leaf (1-5), and Souris (0-6).

In the double-round robin women’s division, Veronica Smith and her host club team finished first at 4-2 win-loss and advance directly to the 2 pm Sunday final. Montague, skipped by Lynn Anne Brousseau, and the Julie Mutch-skipped Crapaud team were both 3-3, with Montague winning both their games against Crapaud, and being awarded second place. These two  rinks will square off in the 10 am semi, with the winner facing Smith in the  final. Cornwall’s Karen Currie-skipped foursome finish out of the playoffs with a 2–4 record.

The winning men’s and women’s rinks will advance to the 2022 Everest Curling Club Championships, Nov. 20-26, 2022 at a location to be named.

Live, end by end results are available at:!/competitions/7383

Spectators are permitted, but the number will be limited, as this event is being played during Step 2 of the Moving On plan where the number of people interacting at an event is restricted to 100 or fewer each day, 

Draw and Schedule

Team Rosters

(M=Men, W=Women, numbers = throwing order, S = Skip)

M-Cornwall CC

Cornwall Curling Club

Robbie Doherty (4-S), Kyle Holland (3), Brooks Roche (2), Lincoln Peters (1), Ryan Giddens

M-Crapaud CCC

Crapaud Community Curling Club

Alan Inman (4-S), Daniel MacFadyen (3), Nathan Hardy (2), Matthew Hardy (1)

M-Maple Leaf CC

Maple Leaf Curling Club, O’Leary, PEI

Glen Betts (4-S), Ian MacMillan (3), Paul Wood (2), Ricky Jones (1)

M-Montague CC

Montague Curling Club

Shane MacDonald (4-S), Larry Richards (3), Jeff Shaw (2), Donald Clarey (1)

M-Souris CC

Souris Curling Club

Shane MacClure (4-S), Donald Bergeron (3), Michael Robinson (2), Martin Cheverie (1)

M-Summerside CC

Summerside Curling Club

Jamie Newson (4-S), Dennis Watts (3), Corey Miller (2), Terry Arsenault (1), Andrew MacDougall

M-Western CCC

Western Community Curling Club

Freddy Fraser (4), Daryl MacDonald (3-S), Paul McRae (2), Eric McCarthy (1)

W-Cornwall CC

Cornwall Curling Club

Karen Currie (4-S), Mellissa Creighton (3), Angela Sanderson (2), Jenine Bodner (1)

W-Crapaud CCC

Crapaud Community Curling Club

Julie Mutch (4-S), Lindsay Moore (3), Terri Wood (2), Heather MacRae (1)

W-Montague CC

Montague Curling Club

Lynn Anne Brousseau (4-S), Cara Eastman (3), Erinn Chappell (2), Gaylene Nicholson (1)

W-Summerside CC

Summerside Curling Club

Veronica Smith (4-S), Julia Hunter (3), Emily Gray (2), Sabrina Smith (1)

Comments are closed.