Masters Curling Champions Crowned in Montague

The 2023 PEI Masters Curling Championships, with male and female events for curlers age 60 and over , took place from January 18-22 at the Montague Curling Club, with five men’s and three women’s rinks taking part.

2023 Master Women’s Champions (L-R) Shirley Berry, Karen Currie, Gloria Turner, Linda Fairhurst

The Shirley Berry team beat Montague’s Darlene London by a score of 7-3 on Sunday morning to win the PEI Masters Women’s Championship.

2023 PEI Master Women’s Finalists (L-R) DArlene London, Bev Harding, Sherren MacKinnon, Susan Watts

The three women’s teams entered played a double round robin, all teams finished 2-2 and all three team advanced to the playoff round.  Darlene London (ranked 3rd) played Cornwall’s Sandy Hope in the 2vs3 game Saturday evening and won to advance to play the Shirley Berry (ranked 1) team from Cornwall.  The winning Berry team includes Shirley Berry, Karen Currie, Gloria Turner, and Linda Fairhurst while lead Susan Watts, second Sherren MacKinnon, and third Bev Harding round out the Darlene London rink.

2023 PEI Master Men’s Champions (L-R) Peter Rousseau, Phillip McInnis, John Mullin, Garth Cudmore, Edgar Coffin

The Peter Rousseau team from the Cornwall Curling Club beat clubmates the Peter Murdoch team by a score of 4-1 in the first of two possible playoff games, eliminating the need for the second game.  This is the first for Rousseau at the PEI Masters Men’s.

2023 PEI MasterMen’s Finalists (L-R) Peter Murdoch, Bill Hope, Dario Zannier (missing, David Murphy)

The five men’s teams entered in the event played a modified triple knockout, with Murdoch winning the A section and Rousseau wining the B and C.  As the two teams entered the playoffs on Sunday Rousseau had to be beaten twice while they would take the event by winning either game.  The finalist team is made up of (skip to lead) Peter Murdoch, Bill Hope, David Murphy and Dario Zannier while the winning team is comprised of (skip to lead) Peter Rousseau, Phillip McInnis, Garth Cudmore, Edgar Coffin and, alternate, John Mullin.

Both winning teams earn the right to compete at the Canadian Masters at the Thistle-St. Andrew’s Curling Club in Saint John, NB April 2-9, 2023.

Results can be found!/competitions/8054.

Comments are closed.